General Assembly 2017

From May 21, 2017 14:00 until May 21, 2017 18:00
Hits: 331

Event Details:

  • Day: Sunday
  • General Assembly 2017
  • Entrance Fee: Free
  • Venue: Khaneye Iran, IAB Location, 17 Nicols Avenue, Watertown, MA 02472
  • Free





Council Members:
Reza Akbarpour
Faraz Firoozabadi
Minoo Ghoreishi
Jamshid Latifpour
Rosa Razavi (Shahidi)
Ramin Shahidi (Chair)
Mahnaz Zeinali

Saeed Pirooz

Amir Javad Khaleghi

Reza Akbarpour

Labkhand Asefi

Simin Bakhtiar
Minoo Ghoreishi
Laleh Nabipour
Nayer Nikpoor (Aliabadi) (Chair)
Rosa Razavi (Shahidi)

Khaneh Management:
Mahnaz Zeinali
Monir Nadimi (Shoushtarian)

Mahshid Aryankhesal
Amir Javad Khaleghi

Minoo Ghoreishi
Amir Javad Khaleghi
Mahnaz Zeinali

Referendum & Election:
Manijeh Ghavami (Zarghamee)
Giti Mahallati
Nayer Nikpoor (Aliabadi)
Bahram Shafai (Chair)
Shervin Talebinejad

Website and Public Relation:
Reza Akabarpour
Faraz Firouzabadi
Saeed Pirooz
Mahnaz Zeinali

Mahmoud Ketabi



Dear Sir or Madam,


You are cordially invited to attend the Annual Meeting of the Iranian Association of Boston (IAB) on Sunday, May 21st, 2017 at 2:00 PM provided that you are a current IAB member. If you are unsure of your membership status, please contact Membership Committee at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or Ms. Minoo Ghoreishi by phone at (617)899-7444. This meeting will be held at Khaneh-ye Iran located at 17 Nichols Avenue, Watertown, MA. During the IAB Annual Meeting, the Council Chair and the President will report on the previous fiscal year’s activities. The President of IAB will also report on the activities of the executive committees during the year. A financial report will be presented by the Treasurer and the Auditor. The council nominees for the upcoming vacant seats will be announced and then the nomination of IAB members’ candidates will take place. Your attendance and active participation at this “members only” event is highly encouraged.

At this meeting members may ask questions and share their views with the IAB Council and the other members present. You will have a chance to nominate your favorite candidates for the upcoming IAB Council seats. Please note that if your membership has not been renewed for 2017, and you wish to participate in this year’s Annual Meeting and ensuing voting process, your paid IAB membership application must be received no later than Thursday May 18th, 2017. Any application received after this date and before May 21st, 2017 will not be processed during this period and the effective date of your membership will start after the Annual Meeting.

Based on IAB By-Laws, the IAB Council consists of 7 members. This year 2 Council seats are vacated and need to be filled. The current Council nominated their candidates as follows: Rosa Shahidi and Minoo Ghoreishi. Per IAB By-Laws, IAB members will have the opportunity to nominate up to twice the number of Council nominated candidates for the vacant Council seats. If more candidates are nominated, the excess number of nominees will be narrowed down through a voting process administered by the Election Committee at the meeting. All candidates nominated at the Annual meeting will appear on the voting ballots, which will be mailed to all IAB members for voting. The Election Committee will announce the result of the voting after the ballots have been returned and counted.

Who can attend this meeting?

According to the IAB by-laws, only IAB members can attend the Annual Meeting. Each IAB member who has paid his/her annual dues for the current year can participate in only one Annual Meeting and the ensuing election process. Those individuals that have renewed their memberships or become new members prior to May 18th, 2017 are allowed to participate at this year’s (2017) IAB Annual Meeting and the ensuing election process. New members that become IAB members AFTER this year’s IAB Annual Meeting are entitled to participate at 2018 Annual Meeting and cannot vote on the candidates nominated at the 2017 Annual Meeting. Note that if you became a new IAB Member AFTER last year’s Annual Meeting (June 12th, 2016), you are eligible to attend the Annual Meeting on Sunday May 21st, 2017 and participate in the election process of this year.


Who can be nominated for IAB Council seat?

Any IAB member who has been renewed his/her IAB membership prior to May 18th, 2017 is eligible to be nominated for a Council seat. All prospective candidates are expected to be present at the IAB Annual Meeting. However, if your candidate cannot attend the IAB Annual Meeting but wishes to be nominated and serve if elected, then please ask the candidate to contact IAB Clerk, Reza Akbarpour, before May 18th, 2017 with his/her written intention to run. The IAB Clerk can be reached by email (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) or by phone at (765)588-7941. In addition to the written intention, absentee candidates are also encouraged to submit a short biography along with qualifications and aspirations to be read at the Annual Meeting.


The following is a tentative Agenda for the 2017 Annual Meeting:

  1. Announcement of meeting quorum by IAB Clerk (at least 15% of members must be present for the Annual Meeting to proceed)
  2. Welcome and Introduction by Council Chair
  3. Report on IAB past year’s activities and future goals by the IAB President
  4. Financial report by IAB Treasurer and Auditor
  5. Questions and answers


  1. Selection of 2017 Election Committee
  2. Nomination of IAB members' candidates and IAB Auditor
  3. Short introduction and statement of qualifications and aspiration by each nominee
  4. Verification of nominees qualifications by IAB Clerk
  5. Distribution of nominating ballots and voting of IAB members’ candidates (if necessary)
  6. Announcement of the final Annual Meeting nominees by the Election Committee
  7. Closing remarks

Hope to see you all at the Annual Meeting.